Saturday, March 18, 2017

Bible Bookshelf

~ The 66 Books of the Bible Are In Distinct Subject Categories ~

Overview  ~  The 66 Books of the Holy Bible can be considered as grouped by subject category.  What follows are two typical ways of looking at the individual books—while similar to each other they do have significant differences. 

The Pentateuch (Genesis through Deuteronomy) – 5 books
Historical Books (Joshua through Esther) – 12
Poetical Books (Job through Song of Solomon) – 5
Prophetical Books:     
  • Major Prophets (Isaiah through Daniel) – 5
  • Minor Prophets (Hosea through Malachi) – 12
Historical Books (Matthew through Acts) – 5
Didactical [Teaching] (Romans through Jude) – 21
Prophetical (Revelation) – 1 book

Law (The Pentateuch: Genesis through Deuteronomy) – 5 books
History (Joshua through Esther) – 12
Poetry (Job through Song of Solomon) – 5
Major Prophets (Isaiah through Daniel) – 5
Minor Prophets (Hosea through Malachi) – 12
The Gospels (Matthew through John) – 4
History (Acts) – 1
Epistles to Churches (Romans through 2 Thessalonians) – 9
Epistles to Friends (1 Timothy through Philemon) – 4
General Epistles (Hebrews through Revelation) – 9 

Comment  ~  While there are 66 books, there is only one story—the story of The Messiah.  From Genesis to Revelation the Holy Bible is about Jesus Christ and the redemption which only He provides. 

~ Robert Lloyd Russell, ABUNDANT LIFE NOW

(1)     The current TOP 10 ALN posts are listed at the very bottom of this home page.
(2)     There is an INDEX of all ALN posts accessed by scrolling down the left column.
(3)     You may LINK to any ALN posts on your own blog or website. 
(4)     You may COPY any ALN post, but please credit ALN as the source by prominently displaying the following statement:  Reprinted from “Abundant Life Now,” a free blog which offers inspiring moments, thought-provoking comments, and solid Biblical insight at .

No comments:

Post a Comment